Spotlight On: Chalkboards

29 Jan

Dearest Funkybear Followers,

As some of you may know, I am Claire’s (The original Funky Bear’s) sister! We decided over winter break to join forces and I’m beyond thrilled to share some of my ideas and thoughts with y’all.

I’ve always had a passion for interior design. In fact, I’ve kept a design book since I was nearly 5 years old; composed of some simple computer paper, Elmer’s glue, stolen fabric swatches and magazine pictures from my Mom, and staples. I’d write little comments under all the pictures, such as “Ew, yucky color on walls” or “Good throw pillows”. Yes, I was a little girl with a big attitude, and still to this day joke as a family about the complaints and observations I have been known to make whenever I walk into a new space (interior decor on a cruise ship? Good gosh.)

Regardless, it is a true passion of mine and I beleive that it’s an art that can transfrom a room into a home.  And everyone needs to feel at home somewhere! Money or how good/not so good you think you are at this kind of stuff is no excuse, anyone can do this – some of us may just need a little direction. Which is where the funkybearS come into play. Please feel free to comment/question/suggest, anything you’d like!

Without further ado, my very first blog post as one of the Funky Bears! Drumroll please….

Lately, I’ve been loving finding creative uses for chalkboards.

This was my very first decorative chalkboard I bought in South Carolina at an old beachy antique store years ago! I love the teal and black contrast and I finally found a place for it hanging on the door to my room.

Earlier this summer I discoverd that there’s such thing as chalkboard paint! So fun. You can find it at your local craft store (got mine at Michael’s) or even Home Depot/Lowe’s. You can use it on nearly any surface and transform something boring into a chalkboard.

Here are a couple of ways I’ve used this chalkboard spraypaint:

Above our oven was this bare, ugly, puke-gray wall — and I couldn’t figure out for the life of me what could go there. I found an old poster frame of mine and decided to turn it into a chalkboard! All I did was spray paint the frame a sage green and then sprayed the chalkboard paint onto the glass/plastic part. Let it dry for an hour or so, and then it’s good to write on!

Just ordered this little guy from www.etsy.com — if you’ve never been there, BRACE yourself. It’s wonderful and you’ll get addicted. Also a great source of artistic inspiration!

I purchased it for $10-$15 but you can make this yourself too! An old or antique metallic tray with the flat surface works perfectly as a chalkboard. You can find all sorts of shapes/sizes of silver trays at any resale or antique shop in your area. Houston people: The Guild Shop or Blue Bird Circle is your answer, look no further.

Another fun little way I’ve found in my house to use a chalkboard — organization. I am an unashamed type-A and feel much better about the world when things are labeled and orderly. Found this chalkboard bin at Target in the baby nursery section. Who would of guessed?!

As for the final use I’ve found for chalkboard paint… (this one might be my favorite!) For one of my friend’s 21st birthdays, I decided to make her a little scavenger hunt challenge for the night. She’s the kind of person who wouldn’t even think twice about taking it on. I spray painted a piece of cardboard & wrote on it with chalkboard markers which you can find at your local craft store (lots of festive colors). The chalkboard paint was perfect — whenver I made mistakes on the sign, it was easily fixable with a little eraser magic.

Hope you enjoyed finding out how I (over)use chalk in my house. Check out others’ ideas too for some inspiration:

As you can see, there are countless possibilities with chalkboard paint and a little creative thinking! So go get yourself a can of chalkboard paint and get to work. Let me know if you have any other ideas & tips pertaining to this and we’ll post them.

 

Little Funkybear love,
Caroline

One Response to “Spotlight On: Chalkboards”

  1. Dad January 29, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

    Great post, Caro!! Nice job getting on the board 🙂

Leave a Reply

