Obsession: Nest Beds

7 Sep

Today we are going to have a nice long chat about one of my most favorite places in the world.

My bed. Which is a nest. Hence, the obsession with nest beds.

A literal nest bed.

Okay just kidding. I wish this fairy tale of a bed could be my own but alas, it is not.

However, I do still have my mattress from high school. One of the best hand-me-downs my parents have ever gifted me with.

Words cannot express how much I love my bed. I love my bed like a fat kid loves cake. And as a fat kid at heart who loves cake (especially chocolate), I believe I bring a certain degree of authenticity to this comparison that allows my readers to understand how deep my love runs for my bed.

After a long day, don’t you just get that amazing feeling relief when you see your bed? Magically, the fatigue of the day wears away. You muster up just enough energy to run from the doorway to jump onto your bed – face first obviously – and let it bounce you up and down for a minute while you smile.

Hmm…maybe that’s just me.

Anyhoo, today is a celebration of the most nest-ful beds I could find. The ones that would even make those “I’ll Sleep When I Die” people want to wander over and take a quick nappy-poo.

Check out these clean, fluffy, dark, wonderful, encapsulating beds. It’s probably a good thing my bed doesn’t look like any of these or I’d sleep all day, lose my job and Funky Bear would go out of style. What a world…

Um I believe this bed belongs to Rachel Zoe. Enough said as to why it is fabulous.

Inspired by: The Decorista

Nests usually involve twigs and branches, this one opted for fine fur of mink.

Inspired by: The Decorista

Evokes the feeling of super clean linen -- this type of nest bed does it for some people.

Inspired by: My Home Ideas

This is the exact bedding I would choose to nest in all winter if I was a bear or something. But you can try flannels too if you like 'em.

Inspired by: Kelly Green Interiors

Whoa, talk about a nest? This one must be inhabited by a flamingo with all that pink.

Inspired by: The Decorista

This entire bed was built for a modern day Sleeping Beauty.

Inspired by: The Decorista

This looks like a huge wedding dress, bustle, and train thrown haphazardly over a 4 poster bed. Mama likee!

Inspired by : The Decorista

Crisply made (you could bounce a quarter off those sheets) but with just enough bed foot luscious color and texture to officially make it a nest bed.

Inspired by: The Decorista

Look at these lurvers jumping on the bed!

Inspired by: The Decorista

I know I have mentioned my feelings about over-using gray in previous posts, but come on, even I have to admit that this bed looks cozy on all levels.

Inspired by: Apartment Therapy

This soft comforter practically spills over the sides of the bed. Obsession.

Inspired by: Apartment Therapy

**Side Note: I am currently in the market for one of these types of bedspreads. I think I’m going to go with the ruched bows duvet cover from West Elm (see the 3 above this). Thoughts?

I think we have all learned a valuable lesson here today. Nest beds are those that:

  • Have pillows for days — in case you need on for not only between your knees and behind your back, but to prop those up too.
  • Pure white can work to reassure those of us that are cleanly that there is a spick and span place of fluffy rest just waiting for you.
  • Or deep colors to help you drift into la-la land for an undisclosed amount of time.
  • Have many layers for hiding within and under.
  • Involve major types of textures so you never know what’s going to caress your face next. Not as creepy as it sounds…
  • That you love!
Leave a Reply

