Spotlight On: Gray is the Main Event?

31 Aug

Turns out REM was absolutely correct: “It’s the end of the world as we know it…”

Or at least for my decorating mind that is currently the size of a pea (but trying to expand with all my Funky Bear endeavors)

I need some input, please.

I keep running into gray being used in a bold way. How is it that this color which most people write off as dull, boring and undesirable keeps reappearing as the main event in beautiful design work?

So, very wrong. Does this even have a flavor?

If you look at any of the large companies like West Elm, Pottery Barn, even Bed Bath & Beyond — they are all featuring gray as wall color in their magazines, an “accent” color for pillows and in their bedding.

Let me level with you before going on my rant…you’ll find a handful of my girlfriends who will call me a Plain Jane. I’ll be the first to admit they’re not totally off the mark. I have gotten my hair cut the same way since high school, my wardrobe always includes something solid and black, and I always order the Original Plain Tart flavor yogurt at places like Yoguri, Berripop and Pinkberry (although I get fruit and chocolate on it…)

But even I, a self-professed Plain Jane (that’s even the name of the baked potato I order at Jason’s Deli), cannot imagine using GRAY as the focus of my room!

Please, correct me if you believe I’m wrong. And for the record, I don’t think these rooms are ugly — I just would just personally feel like I was in prison. That may or may not be too strong a way to describe this color.

Maybe if you’re a bright enough person you can just shine your energy right on through.

Or maybe gray being super boring is just a myth we were raised to believe and it is a deep seated notion in our (my) psyche?

I don’t know, this is all conjecture.

But the absolute worst part of all of this is that no matter how much I want to say I’m against this phase, I am drawn to it and think it is beautiful in a weird, ashen way…

Now it’s your turn. Take a look at some of these pictures below and comment if you think gray has transitioned from a boring neutral to the center of the action.

As a deep wall color.

Inspired by: 30 Elm

As a deep wall color and accompaniment to purple.

Inspired by: Apartment Therapy

As a combination with white for stripes.

Inspired by: Bright Bazaar

As a wall color and bed accent.

Inspired by: High Heel Foot in the Door

As sheets for a neutral bed.

Inspired by: Living Etc.

As sheets in a bright and girly room.

Inspired by: Living Etc.

As a wall color for an entry way to highlight the bright clean white furniture.

Inspired by: Peppermint Bliss

As the fabric on a headboard.

Inspired by: Nest Egg

As wall color in a family room.

Inspired by: The Bubb Report

As a light neutral yet feminine color.

Inspired by: The Decorista

For fur, pillow, and curtain accents.

Inspired by: The Decorista

With other dark colors to create an interesting bed...

Inspired by: OhDeeDoh

As a trendy pattern for walls.

Inspired by: The Decorista

Et 'tu, bathroom?

Inspired by: The Decorista

So come on, I know by now all you readers are fired up one way or another. Cast your vote in the “Comment” box below.

Is GRAY a YAY or a NAY?

7 Responses to “Spotlight On: Gray is the Main Event?”

  1. Ms. Carrie August 31, 2010 at 10:57 pm #

    Wow! Gray is not my personal color scheme, but your blog has made me rethink that!
    Nice job! I’m diggin’ that charcoal gray w/ the white mirror and chest. Cute for a bathroom.
    p.s. did smelly cat find a home? I’m so late w/ this inquiry….soooooorrry!

    • funkybear August 31, 2010 at 11:34 pm #

      I know, gray has never been in my palette either but it looks like it’s making an entrance full-force.

      No, we are still searching for a nice home fro Smelly Cat. Do you know any cat lovers such as yourself who would love to take this sweet and appreciative cat in? 😉

  2. 1234 September 1, 2010 at 1:03 am #

    I love the gray. It is simple, neutral, and can create great demensions in a room if different shades are used. I really like it! Bold primary colors used in the past are so cliche! Gray is creative, classy, and peaceful!

    • 1234 September 1, 2010 at 1:05 am #

      Oh and I totally feel like gray can add an industrial flare to a home environment.. even futuristic if you want it to be!

  3. beth September 1, 2010 at 8:33 am #

    I like grey as a more interesting neutral than white, sets the room palette for so many other colors.

  4. Lauren Hebert September 1, 2010 at 2:16 pm #

    I LOVE it!

  5. Ariel Hall September 1, 2010 at 4:38 pm #

    I love the gray! But there MUST be a bright color to go along with it!!

Leave a Reply

