Obsession: Picture Clustering

23 Jul

Sloppy. Feminine. Organized. Inspired. Pretty. Thought-provoking

No, I’m not describing myself…

I’m describing my BIGGEST OBSESSION EVER (bigger than white couches and turquoise).

Picture clustering.

I am moving to Houston in the next couple of weeks 🙂 and therefore I get to decorate a brand new place! I couldn’t be more excited. When I first started thinking of things I know I have to have in my home…this was the first one that came to my mind.

Easy and fun, I definitely believe every house can use picture clustering in some way, shape or form. Like I said above, it can be organized and neat, or crazy and unexpected. You can choose which style is for you based on the location of the pictures in your house.

Just like with the table tops, every now and then I will be updating you with new and interesting ways to use picture clustering in your home. Take a chance organizing your wall art like so:

You could all cray-cray like this and fill up a whole wall! Even though it's busy, I love how each piece is an interesting little trinket on its own.

Inspired by: The Decorista

A few well-placed large pieces of art can create an interesting and colorful wall.

Inspired by: Design Sponge Online

Even above a big media center, you can still use the clustering method. This especially works for extremely tall rooms/ceilings.

Inspired by: Pottery Barn magazine

Neat, organized, and all in a row is a good look too. Especially for those of you OCD peeps out there who can't handle the chaos of other types of picture clustering.

Inspired by: My  Blue Hydrangea

This style still maintains a semblance of order with all of the rectangular frames. But with different sizes and rotations, it is still super eye-catching. I am decided between using this style and above a couch -- maybe both!

Inspired by: Lonny Mag

I love this set. The different levels and textures with the W, random framing and colors is FABULOUS. It is a great way to fill up a big old white empty wall, which most apartments I will be looking at have.

Inspired by: The Decorista

Here is a modern way to use picture clustering in your house. Try darker images or matted on black with thin black frames (like poster frames you can buy at Michael's).

Inspired by: Living Etc.

Here is the original picture that launched my obsession. This is in a family home along a staircase, and I've seen it done on a smaller level in lots of homes over the years. What sets this apart is that it goes all the way up to the ceiling, and looks both purposeful and artful.

Above the mantle is another great place to use pictures and art to add a centerpiece to your room.

Inspired by: Design Sponge Online

Ah this is another one of my favorites. First of all, I'm definitely down for the above the couch placement. Secondly, I love the order of the frames but the colorful different-ness of the prints draws me too. Try getting vintage prints of old magazine covers or play bills.

Inspired by: The Decorista

Don’t you love it now too? Seriously so easy. Just make sure that if you are going for the clean and polished look, that you have a level handy to check the straight-ness of your frames and so that they all line up evenly. If you’re going for the haphazard, eclectic art look, then have at it — no rules!

Leave a Reply

