I am…the Funky Bear

2 Jun

Or at least I will be.

I am a lot of things in my life. Intelligent. Creative. Impatient. Well-read. Excited…

But I am NOT decorative.

In fact, I would definitely classify myself as decorating-challenged and design-impaired when it comes to elements of the home.

It’s funny, because I just graduated with a degree in Advertising from the University of Georgia (Go Dawgs!). You would think with all of my Adobe Photoshop and InDesign skills and  knowledge acquired from my Creative Message & Strategy  and Graphic Design classes that I would be able to visualize the space in my room and home in a fabulously amazing way. Not so.

My decorating deficiency has been highlighted by those around me who excel at this art: My mom and my sister. They could cherry-pick their way through a garage sale or Goodwill and discover the coolest or even weirdest pieces to purchase. Then somehow, they magically arrange said pieces around the house in an artful, purposeful, and interesting manner.

Now that I am entering a new chapter in my life, I am ready to adorn my next home, apartment, or room with personality-filled FUNKY pieces that represent who I am, and that I get tons of compliments on!

Anthropologie's Bella Hothouse Bedding

After surfing the Internet and leafing through my mom’s old home improvement magazines in search of a style to fall in love with, I realized that Pottery Barn and Ballard Design just aren’t going to cut it (no offense–great stores!). Even Anthropologie, which definitely offers different, exciting and cool pieces of clothing and home decorating items, is limited in their selection. At one point in college, almost every girl I knew had Anthropologie’s Bella Hothouse Bedding (had to look that one up).

And I refuse to be a part of the masses any longer.

There really isn’t a great outlet for young women like me who are past the slobby-college lifestyle but still years away from the starting-a-family stage. I am in my early twenties, with minimal disposable income, an active lifestyle, and trying to figure out who I am and where I want to go in my life. I believe there are a lot of us out there, and this blog has been created for you and me.

With this blog, I will dedicate myself to finding examples of spaces in homes that are easy to re-create on a budget, and can appeal to many different types of women (and maybe men!). I will seek out bold colors and fabrics, young and fresh designers, affordable yet stylish furniture pieces, and anything FUNKY that comes in between, and relay these ideas to you.

I am going to start by looking at examples of girls’ rooms that have jumped out at me, young designers I know, and different categories of items that everyone wants in their home. Hopefully, something might catch your eye and inspire you to create a space that reflects your own FUNKY personality and that you feel content in.

This is a journey I decided to start today individually, and have decided to share with the blogosphere (is that word?). I hope you enjoy my posts and would appreciate any feedback or suggestions you can give me!

3 Responses to “I am…the Funky Bear”

  1. Daryl June 9, 2010 at 2:53 am #

    Claire,

    What a great start to your blog! I am embarrassed to admit that I am one of those girls who owns Anthropologie’s Bella Hothouse Bedding. After 3 years of the same quilt, I am also ready for a change. I am very excited to follow your blog, so I can learn some new, original decorating tips!

    • funkybear June 9, 2010 at 5:03 am #

      Do NOT be embarrassed! That was not my purpose in pointing the Anthro bedding out. It is adorable! But it’s one of the only adorable things that was made available mainstream to people like you and me. Get it? I’m learning as I go so subscribe to the blog to watch as it unfolds! xoxo

  2. Penny June 9, 2010 at 5:42 pm #

    Your mom’s decorating is inspired. I have no talent in this department either so obviously, it doesn’t run through the whole family. My Katie has more of a sense of style than I do. Think I’m going to like this blog.

Leave a Reply

